My favorite player, Rajon Rondo, on my favorite team, the Boston Celtics, blew out his knee.  It probably happened in their two-overtime loss to the Atlanta Hawks last night, but when I turned on the Celtics-Heat game today (January 27, 2013), Rondo wasn’t on the floor with the Celtics, and he’s always on the floor when the Celtics play.   I later found out his season is over; he has torn the anterior cruciate ligament in his knee. 

Bummer.  The Celtics still managed to end a six-game skid by beating the Heat in double overtime.  But it’s hard to imagine they’ll be able to keep up that level of play for long without Rondo.

Kevin Garnett is a close second among my list of favorite Celtics.  And I’ll still get to watch him and the rest of the team, and I love the way Doc Rivers coaches the team.  But dadgummit.  I love Rondo.  Even his mercurial, sometimes petulant demeanor.  He’s a player’s player.  He’s a lot like KG.  You want him on your team, but hate him when he plays for somebody else. 

Get well soon, Rondo.  We love and miss you.

